New Jersey has some amazing tourist attractions, beautiful beaches, and easy access to entertainment. It also has some the strictest traffic laws. Whether you’re visiting New Jersey or have lived here your entire life, some of these New Jersey traffic laws may surprise you. For your own safety and to avoid New Jersey’s steep traffic fines, you should familiarize yourself with these lesser-known laws.
One New Jersey Traffic Law Could Mean Doubled Fines
We’ve mentioned that New Jersey is the worst state in the US for speeding. One reason is that state law allows a doubled fine for racing on a public highway. Because New Jersey law defines “racing” as driving 10mph or more over the speed limit, your speeding charge could turn into a racing charge fairly quickly. It’s very important to pay attention to the posted speed limits.
You Can Face Penalties For Avoiding Red Lights
When you’re running late for work, red lights only make you that much later. Even though it’s tempting to avoid it and drive through a corner gas station, you may want to rethink that. In New Jersey, avoiding a traffic signal could result in a ticket. According to New Jersey traffic law, it’s illegal to drive on any property other than a public road to avoid a traffic signal.
Tailgating Can Get Your License Suspended
Tailgating, or closely following another vehicle, doesn’t seem significant. However, New Jersey traffic laws certainly think it is. If you “[follow] another driver more closely than reasonable,” you will receive five points against your driver’s license. It may even cause you to have your license suspended for thirty days.
Failure to Report an Accident Can Cost Over $100
If you were involved in an accident “that results in personal injury or property damage in excess of $500,” and fail to report it, you could face legal trouble. You and the other driver may prefer to handle the situation on your own. However, New Jersey requires an accident report. Although failure to report an accident will not add points to your driver’s license, it can still result in a fine of over $100.
Learning about your state’s traffic laws will take very little time, but it could save you a lot of money and hassle in the long run. The New Jersey Traffic Law Center provides a list of laws and other resources on its website. If you would like to learn more or need advice from a New Jersey attorney, please visit the website of David C. Barry. You can also call at (732) 204-7387 or email David@NJAttorneyDWI.com.