Possession of Marijuana
Caught with Marijuana in NJ
Possession of marijuana is a serious crime in New Jersey. The penalties vary greatly based upon the amount you are caught with. For the purpose of this page we will focus on possession of marijuana in excess of 50 grams (click here for information on “Simple Possession” or possession of marijuana <50 grams).
Possession of Marijuana in a quantity greater than 50 grams is a felony offense/fourth degree crime and is indictable under New Jersey law carrying with it the following penalties:
- the possibility of 18 months in jail
- fine up to $25,000
- mandatory 24 month license suspension
A conviction for marijuana possession also results in a criminal record and therefore has the potential to be devastating to an individual’s personal and professional life.
Affordable Representation for Marijuana Possession
If you or a loved one has been charged with a drug related crime, speak with Attorney David C. Barry. He has decades of experience successfully defending these cases in Middlesex County and surrounding areas. His experience, insights and local knowledge often make a critical difference in the outcome for his clients.
If you or a loved one has been charged with possession of marijuana in Middlesex County, call us today 732-204-7387.