Possession of Under 50g of Marijuana
Simple Possession in New Jersey
The laws regarding marijuana in the United States are ever evolving but until the time comes that New Jersey reforms their rules, it remains illegal to possess any amount of marijuana (commonly referred to as weed, pot, herb). Possession of less than 50 grams of marijuana (simple possession) is a disorderly person’s offense that carries significant consequences for your personal and professional life. If you or a loved one has been charged with a drug related crime, Attorney David C. Barry recommends that you seek the guidance of an experienced criminal defense attorney as soon as possible.
Penalties for Possession of Marijuana (under 50g)
If convicted of possession of less than 50 grams of marijuana, you are exposed to:
- fines up to $1,000
- 6 months in county jail
- a criminal record
In addition, you may be subjected to a potential six-month loss of your driver’s license, probation and community service.
Attorney David C. Barry has decades of successful criminal defense practice in and around Middlesex County. His experience, knowledge and insight into the local municipal courts may be the difference in helping you to avoid a conviction or in reducing the charges against you. Call today for a free consultation to speak directly with David about your possession case at 732-204-7387.