While there are several reasons why a DUI (driving under the influence) charge is something you should avoid, the drunk driving cost alone should deter you. A DUI is characterized in New Jersey as a penalty with steep fines (Barry DUI). Furthermore, the impact of a DUI on your day to day life can add additional costs on top of the fines. You should never get behind the wheel when intoxicated. If you end up with a DUI, you can expect to pay the drunk driving cost.
Drunk Driving Cost
If you are penalized with your first DUI in New Jersey, you will pay between $250 and $400 in fines if you have a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08% or higher, but less than 0.10% (New Jersey Sentences and Penalties). For a BAC of 0.10% or higher, the fine is between $300 and $500. In addition, your driver’s license can be suspended for three months to a year.
For a second DUI offense within 10 years of your first, fines range from $500 to $1,000. You will be incarcerated for no less than 48 hours but no more than 90 days. Next, you will be required to complete 30 days of community service. Finally, your driver’s license can be suspended for two years.
A third DUI offense, within 10 years of your previous violation, will result in a fine of $1000. You can expect to be incarcerated for at least 180 days. Finally, your driver’s license will be suspended for 10 years.
Additional Mandatory Fines
The drunk driving cost doesn’t end with your initial fine. Regardless of whether it is your first, second, or third DUI offense, there are several additional fines. You must pay $50 to the Violent Crimes Compensation Board (VCCB). Next, you owe the Drunk Driving Enforcement Fund (DDEF) $100. Then, the Safe Neighborhood (SNSF) will charge you another $75. Therefore, considering all fees, you can expect to pay between $375 and $725 for a first offense DUI, between $725 and $1225 for a second offense DUI, and $1225 for a third offense DUI.
The cost of fees listed above is still just the beginning as far as drunk driving cost goes. There will be court fees and the potential for other fees depending on the judge and the location where you received your DUI. Additionally, without a driver’s license, you should expect an increase in your transportation costs since you will have to consider public transportation, taxis, or other means of getting around.
Ultimately, mistakes happen and at Barry DUI we understand this. We are here to help you through your DUI and will do what we can to be sure that your penalty is fair and just. Give us a call at 732-238-8686 today for more information.