Drugs laws are different in all fifty states. Some drugs are illegal in every state, but the penalties for possession and distribution vary. It’s imperative to understand your state’s laws and penalties. If you want to learn more about New Jersey Drug Laws, then start with the information below.
New Jersey Drug Laws Are Tough on DWIs
New Jersey courts do not take DWI charges lightly. Even for a first time DWI offense, you will lose your driver’s license for up to one year. You will also need to pay a fine of at least $250 and attend a class at the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center. Depending on the severity of the offense, the judge may require you to install an ignition interlock device in your car. This device requires drivers to pass a breathalyzer test before starting the car. You can find more specifics about New Jersey’s DWI laws https://statelaws.findlaw.com/new-jersey-law/new-jersey-dwi-laws.html here.
New Jersey Drug Laws Can Be Complicated
New Jersey drug laws extend beyond illicit drugs and drunk driving. Any drug charge can potentially cost the offender a lot of time and money. Although New Jersey does allow medical marijuana, possessing recreational marijuana can lead to fines and jail time. A defendant caught with less than 50 grams could pay up to $1000 and spend up to 6 months in jail. More than 50 grams could mean up to 18 months in jail and a fee of up to $15,000. Possession of “drug paraphernalia” such as pipes, needles, and other drug-related items is also illegal and can result in fines and jail time. You can find more information about New Jersey drug laws https://statelaws.findlaw.com/new-jersey-law/new-jersey-drug-possession-laws.html here.
Rehabilitation May Be An Option
Depending on the judge and on the offense, rehabilitation can be an option for some defendants. A defendant who struggles with substance abuse https://statelaws.findlaw.com/new-jersey-law/new-jersey-drug-possession-laws.html may seek rehabilitation and drug testing in exchange for a reduced sentence. First time https://statelaws.findlaw.com/new-jersey-law/new-jersey-dwi-laws.html DWI offenders may also have the option of rehab. Your attorney can advise you about whether or not rehabilitation may be an option for you.
New Jersey Attorney
If you want to learn more about drug and alcohol laws in New Jersey, an attorney can give you legal advice. A New Jersey attorney will be familiar with the laws and options involved in a drug-related court case. David C. Barry is a New Jersey attorney with experience in DWI and drug law. If you’re looking for legal advice, please visit our Contact Us page so that we can get in touch with you.